Torchmate® Tips and Tricks

Discussion in 'CNC Cutting' started by LECS Mark, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. LECS Mark

    LECS Mark Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm not sure if you guys already knew how to do this, but I figured I would make this video anyways. It goes over the 3 main ways of moving the torch: continuous, incremental, and point.

    Let me know if you learned something new in this video!

     
  2. bigjoe

    bigjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I thought it was useful, good stuff, keep those tips coming.
     
  3. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The incremental I use all the time, makes it so much easier to move an exact distance.
     
  4. LECS Mark

    LECS Mark Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Here's another video on how to rip cut your material. This can be a very useful tool when you need to cut metal sheets into smaller pieces, or when you need to sever already cut sections from a plate that you are looking to save.

     
    Harlan Cooper and Robert Rooney like this.
  5. Kchoghead

    Kchoghead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Tried the rip cut...worked perfectly.. thanks like Mark said, this will very useful.
     
    Torchmate likes this.
  6. bigjoe

    bigjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    did the rip cut this A.M. wow what a time saver!
     
  7. Randy Dobbins

    Randy Dobbins Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    wish you could do this with the older models.
     
  8. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    There are many ways you can do it in the older software:
    1 - Go to Aux activate the Tool and jog to cut then deactivate the tool
    2 - Aux to activate the tool, click on Point where you have entered a distance for either x or y and a feedrate and press Move then deactivate the tool
    3 - Or my preferred way. Jog to edge of material and Set Program Zero, click on Midi enter the gcode such as G01 X48 F70, Press Start and it will activate the torch cut in the X axis 48" at 70 IPM and then turn off the tool automatically.

    In TM4 to see the Midi button you may have to go to Configuration > Preferences > Main Screen and place a check next to Midi, also you can go to I/O > Output Lines and change the field to Yes in Display in Output Box to place the Plasma button on the Main Screen.
     
  9. Randy Dobbins

    Randy Dobbins Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18

    I have the Torchmate II--What you said should work on mine too?
     
  10. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    73
    This will work on all "older" driver software. So TM2/3/4. You can verify by going to HELP/ABOUT TORCHMATE.
     
  11. Fastyankee13

    Fastyankee13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The rip cut is very handy I use it all the time your video was very useful. I was trying to rip cut basically square out of a piece of steel but retaining the factory edge on the one Y and X axes . I only wanted to cut down the one x and Y axes Basically an L shape. I couldn't get it done. Do you have a trick for getting that done with out using CAD??

    Thanks
    AJ
    www.outlawchutes.com
     
  12. LECS Mark

    LECS Mark Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I guess it could be done if you ABSOLUTELY had to. But if I was you I would just use the shape library to create a shape to your exact dimensions.
    The way you could cut out the "L" shape would be to do the rip cut for exact distances, shutting off the torch and reprogramming the distance at every corner. The federate for your cut would remain the same.
     
  13. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Here is a RIP program.

    Set your PROGRAM ZERO where you want to END.

    Then JOG the head to where you want to start. Half on/off the material.

    Press RUN and the head will cut to the SET PROGRAM ZERO.

    So making an L you would SET PROGRAM ZERO at the point of the L.

    Jog machine to the starts and RUN.
     

    Attached Files:

    • RIP.gm
      File size:
      54 bytes
      Views:
      18
  14. Fastyankee13

    Fastyankee13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mark , I took the rectangle shape from the shape file and tried deleting two of the edges in the node edit and running that. But I had issues doing that the shape came out weird. There is a lot of times were I just want to do this simple L cut were I just want to cut a corner off of a sheet.
    Thanks
    AJ
    www.outlawchutes.com
     
  15. LECS-Chad

    LECS-Chad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    73
    you wouldn't generate a shape. Use the GRAPHIC EDIT TOOL upload_2017-4-26_7-21-59.png and assign a ONLINE TOOL PATH.
     
    bigjoe likes this.
  16. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    What Chad showed is slick and easy, better than drawing a shape in TM Cad.
     
  17. Fastyankee13

    Fastyankee13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I actually tried that method I couldn't get a good L but I guise I could of used the set degree angle tab to get the 90 degrees.
     
  18. SegoMan Designs

    SegoMan Designs Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Chad,

    What file extension is this? it wont open as a G-code (fgc) nor can I import it. I have 3 on the machine.

    Thanks,
     
  19. Dnmeistr-LECS

    Dnmeistr-LECS Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    It is a .gm file used on our VMD software with Accumove controller. If you are using TM3 or TM4 then that file wont work.
     
    SegoMan Designs likes this.
  20. SegoMan Designs

    SegoMan Designs Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for the reply! back to writing a little g code for a rip cut..
     

Share This Page